The Heath Quartet

A private viewing of our Visual Arts Exhibition may be enjoyed from 7:00pm to 7:45pm and during the interval.

Wine and soft drinks will be available during the interval.

Sara Wolstenholme: violin
Juliette Roos: violin
Gary Pomeroy: viola
Christopher Murray ‘cello

The Heath Quartet has performed at the Wooburn Festival for over a decade and their concerts are now cherished events in our classical music calendar.
The dynamic and charismatic Heath Quartet is one of the most exciting British chamber ensembles of the moment, steadily building a reputation for their upbeat and integrated sound. Their recording of Sir Michael Tippett’s string quartets (Wigmore Live) received widespread acclaim and won the 2016 Gramophone Chamber Disk of the Year. The Heath Quartet became the first ensemble in fifteen years to win the prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society’s Young Artists Award (2013).

Formed in 2002 at the Royal Northern College of Music they were selected for representation by YCAT, awarded a Borletti-Buitoni Special Ensemble Scholarship, and in 2012 won the Ensemble Prize at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern where they are now regular invitees.

This year they have closed the Newcastle International Chamber Music Series at the Sage Gateshead, performed the world premiere of Nathan Williamson’s Quartet Black at the Aldeburgh Festival, a BBC Chamber Prom with Steven Osborne and further performances at Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Wigmore Hall and Boulez Saal, Berlin.

In May of this year Juliette Roos became the ensemble’s new joint leader alongside Sara Wolstenholme, replacing Marije Johnston, who stepped back due to an injury.

BBC link to Heath Quartet and Schubert

Johann Sebastian Bach:2 Chorale Prelude ‘Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr’ BWV 662
Johann Sebastian Bach:‘O Mensch, bewein’ dein’ Sünde gross’ BWV 622
Joseph Haydn:String Quartet Op. 9 No.2
Josef Suk:Meditation on an Old Czech Chorale
Franz Schubert:
String Quartet No. 14 in D minor D.810 ‘Death and the Maiden’



Attendee List

Warning: Use of undefined constant ETN_ASSETS - assumed 'ETN_ASSETS' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/ on line 128

Mrs Barbara Wilkinson


Mr Richard Wilkinson


Zaklina Petrovic


Veronique Allain


james fuller


Ian Helmore

  • Date : 6 October 2023
  • Time : 8:00 pm - 10:00 pm (UTC+0)
  • Reg. Deadline : 6 October 2023 12:00 AM
  • Venue : St. Paul's Parish Church, Wooburn, HP10 0PW

Registration Deadline Expired!!